sports photography in adelaide

For the Westies. So to speak.

Moderators: Greg B, Nnnnsic, Geoff, Glen, gstark, Moderators

Forum rules
Please ensure that you have a meaningful location included in your profile. Please refer to the FAQ for details of what "meaningful" is. Please also check the portal page for more information on this.

sports photography in adelaide

Postby rookie2 on Wed Oct 26, 2005 10:33 am

tentative greetings from a new member to this forum
I am just wondering if anyone in adelaide does much sports photography and has some tips and hints to share. do you ever have field trips based around sport (or is that just for jocks like me to do on my own?)
I am fairly new to the dslr stuff and not having great success with sports shots of my kids playing footy netball etc with d70s & kit lens & 70 - 300 ED. Love the gear but a slow learner!
I'm hoping to do better with t-ball & cricket where the action is a bit easier to focus on but am keen to learn from those wise heads already out there.
I can see you are off on a riverland trip this weekend but welcome any feedback anytime down the track.
I'll check out how to post some of my early attempts on this forum and look forward to feedback - might have to be tomorrow.
thanks in anticipation.
_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

Rookie2

http://www.DLdigital.smugmug.com
rookie2

Postby BBJ on Wed Oct 26, 2005 11:19 am

Hi Rookie, Welcome to the forum and you are in the right place for help. There are a few of us sport nutts here with all different types from cricket, soccer etc.. and i am sure they will point you in the right direction.
I am a motorsport person, well i will try anything really but i have my camera setup for what i have found to be the best settings for me and with good results.

I live down in Mt Gambier 5 hours away from you and the bunch in Adelaide are a great bunch so try get to 1 of there meets sometime.

Ok few basic setting for you to try, here is mine.